Sainsbury’s are doing it right

I recently saw this posted on Facebook by Jamie JaiB Byron

“This is amazing customer service… Made up to see there’s still company’s out there who make the effort to A: Read letters they receive & B: Respond to them… But then to just be out and out awesome about doing so makes me smile… Nice one Sainsburys!”

If you can’t read the response, it reads:

“Dear Lily,

Thanks so much for your letter. I think renaming tiger bread giraffe bread is a brilliant idea – it looks much more like the blotches on a giraffe rather than the stripes on a tiger, doesn’t it?

It is called tiger bread because the first baker who made it a loooong time ago thought it looked stripey like a tiger. Maybe they were a bit silly.

I really liked reading your letter so I thought I would send you a little present. I’ve put a £3 gift card in with this letter, if you ask your mum or dad to take you to Sainsbury’s you could use it to buy some of your own tiger bread (and maybe if mum and dad say its OK you can get some sweeties too!) Please tell an adult to wait 48 hours before using this card.

I’m glad you wrote in to us and hope you like spending your gift card. See you in store soon.

Yours sincerely

Chris King (age 27 & 1/3)
customer Manager

Enclosed: £3 gift card”

My favourite part of the letter is “Chris King (no relation) 27 and 1/3″

While the cynical part of me questions if Jamie Byron is working for Sainsbury’s, I’m going to remain optimistic and hope that there really are some lovely people working in Sainsbury’s head office.

Good work Sainsbury’s. With 6,464 likes and 1362 shares in just 14 hours, it’s obviously struck a chord with many.

2 thoughts on “Sainsbury’s are doing it right

  1. Alex, I saw the Sainsbury Customer Service response on facebook but could not read the whole response. I did a search to see if I could find the text and came across your blog. Thanks for typing it out and posting it. I have copied the text and posted it on facebook so my freinds can read the text, (giving you credit for typing the transcript of the letter). Funny that the Customer Service Manager was Chris King. (no relation to me either). My ex-wife is Christina “Chris” King so I was like “what, she doesn’t work at Sainsbury” when I fist saw it. I too loved the fact that he put his age in years and months. Wish mine was that low but I just turned 50 and am now 50 yrs and 9 days old. (damn, how did this happen to me, it seems like yesterday I was a twenty something year old student in business school!)
    So then I did the searce and found that you are also a King and that you are studying PR. I was a Marketing Major in University at Florida State University. I have worked in Marketing, Sales and was a Sales rep for a printing company that did a lot of work with ad agencies.

    But the think that surprised me was you stating that you are a “proud southerner”. I was not aware that Brits made a distinction of Southerners and Northerners. I assume you know this is true in America due to movies and TV. I thought I knew a little about life in the UK since I have friends that are from the Isle of Wight. (They work in London and travel south every weekend to get away from the hassels of the big city). Anyway, when I saw it I assumed you were American and orginally from the south and working in the north. (as I have done much of my career). So to share some humor with about how people in America joke about the differences I use to claim that I was in college before I know that “Damm Yankee” was two words. We refer to the American Civil War as “The War of Northern Agression” and other such jokes. But the guy who has made a career out of making jokes about being a “Redneck” (I assume you know this term??) is Jeff Foxworthy. Check out his website. He had a comedy tour of Proud Southerners called “The Blue Collar Comdey Tour”. Funny stuff if you are interested.

    OK, just some random ramblings from some old guy (tomorrow I will be 50 years and 10 days) who has the family name of King and worked in Marketing, Sales, and PR. Good luck with your studies and most importantly with getting a job upon finishing University.

    David King

    PS: Tell mom and dad I am sorry I haven’t written in so long but I am busy posting odd ramblings on peoples blogs. hehehehe

    • Hi David,

      What a lovely comment! Definitely made me smile – I’m very glad you found my blog!

      There is definitely a distinction in the UK between Northerners and Southerners. I’m not sure if you can tell, but the accents are very different and we often have very different ways of pronunciation and lifestyles! I’ve found that the Northern people are much more warmer and friendly than the cold Southerners in London!

      I’ll be checking out Jeff Foxworthy, see you at the next family reunion!

      (P.s. you’re definitely not old!)

Leave a Reply

